Rivard Plaza

Located at: 1340 Atwater St. Detroit, MI 48207 Phone: (313) 566-8200

Rivard Plaza is home to many of the east riverfront’s most popular highlights, including the lovely Cullen Family Carousel, an in-laid granite map of the Detroit River, a standing glass sculptured map of the St. Lawrence Seaway, a children’s playscape, playful fountains and lush landscaping.

Also located at Rivard Plaza are the tantalizing creations of the RiverWalk Café and Wheelhouse Detroit, a bike shop offering bike rentals, tours, retail and service.

The popular Diamond Jack's River Tours, which provides public tours and private charters of the Detroit River, docks at Rivard Plaza.

The Conservancy's commemorative bricks and pavers are located at Rivard Plaza, as well as Gabriel Richard Park Plaza.

The pavilion building at Rivard Plaza houses public facilities as well as the Conservancy's operations offices and the security command center.

The Cullen Family Carousel and RiverWalk Café are currently closed for the season and will reopen upon return of the warm weather months.

Amenities

  • Bike
  • Café
  • Diamond Jack Boat
  • Handicap Accessible
  • Playscape
  • Restroom
  • Security Office
  • Water Feature

Events at Rivard Plaza

  • Wednesday, Sep 28, 2016 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
    This event occurs every week Wednesday until Wed Sep 28 2016 except Mon May 02 2016, Mon May 09 2016 and Wed Jun 22 2016.

    Join us for 4×4 Co-ed Sand Volleyball this summer in Detroit on the RiverWalk at Rivard Plaza, the coolest spot you have never been to… until now! Great food, cold drinks and lounging by the beautiful Detroit River! Don’t miss out on all the fun.

  • Saturday, Oct 01, 2016 - 8:00am to 12:00pm
    This event occurs every week Saturday until Sun Oct 16 2016 except Sat Apr 23 2016, Sat May 28 2016, Sat Jun 04 2016, Sat Jun 11 2016, Sat Jun 18 2016, Sat Jun 25 2016, Sat Jul 02 2016, Sat Jul 09 2016, Sat Jul 23 2016, Sat Aug 06 2016, Sat Aug 13 2016, Sat Aug 20 2016, Sat Aug 27 2016, Sat Sep 03 2016 and Sat Sep 10 2016. This event also occurs on Sun Jul 31 2016, Sun Sep 25 2016 and Sun Oct 16 2016.

    Each year the Detroit RiverFront Conservancy hosts more than 20 Run/Walk events on the Detroit RiverWalk. This event listing denotes that there is a Run/Walk on the Detroit Riverfront and there may be increased traffic on the riverfront from 8AM-12PM.

  • Sunday, Oct 02, 2016 - 12:00pm
    This event occurs every week Sunday until Sun Oct 30 2016 except Sat Apr 02 2016, Sun May 29 2016, Sun Jul 03 2016, Sun Jul 17 2016, Sun Sep 04 2016, Sun Sep 11 2016, Sun Sep 25 2016 and Sun Oct 16 2016. This event also occurs on Sun Mar 20 2016.

    Join us every Sunday (April 1- October 30) at 10:30 am for a guided pack walk through various routes of Detroit’s beautiful Riverfront paths. 

    The group will meet in Rivard Plaza at the concessions pavilion and walk the scenic Riverfront together as a pack. 

Photo Gallery