Rivard Plaza

Located at: 1340 Atwater St. Detroit, MI 48207 Phone: (313) 566-8200

Rivard Plaza is home to many of the east riverfront’s most popular highlights, including the lovely Cullen Family Carousel, an in-laid granite map of the Detroit River, a standing glass sculptured map of the St. Lawrence Seaway, a children’s playscape, playful fountains and lush landscaping.

Also located at Rivard Plaza are the tantalizing creations of the RiverWalk Café and Wheelhouse Detroit, a bike shop offering bike rentals, tours, retail and service.

The popular Diamond Jack's River Tours, which provides public tours and private charters of the Detroit River, docks at Rivard Plaza.

The Conservancy's commemorative bricks and pavers are located at Rivard Plaza, as well as Gabriel Richard Park Plaza.

The pavilion building at Rivard Plaza houses public facilities as well as the Conservancy's operations offices and the security command center.

The Cullen Family Carousel and RiverWalk Café are currently closed for the season and will reopen upon return of the warm weather months.

Amenities

  • Bike
  • Café
  • Diamond Jack Boat
  • Handicap Accessible
  • Playscape
  • Restroom
  • Security Office
  • Water Feature

Events at Rivard Plaza

  • Friday, Jul 24, 2015 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
    This event occurs every week Thursday and Friday until Fri Aug 14 2015.

    Reading & Rhythm on the Riverfront (R3) is the Detroit Riverfront Conservancy’s unique, interactive early literacy program that provides children from southeast Michigan an opportunity to see live children’s entertainment, hear a story read by a local celebrity reader and receive a free book,

  • Tuesday, Jul 28, 2015 - 8:30am to 10:30am
    This event occurs every week Tuesday and Thursday until Thu Aug 27 2015 except Tue Jun 16 2015, Thu Jun 18 2015, Tue Jun 23 2015, Thu Jun 25 2015 and Thu Jul 02 2015.

    RiverWalkers is a senior walking program presented by the Detroit Medical Center. Seniors, 60+, are invited to participate in this free program that encourages wellness through walking on the Detroit RiverWalk and fitness classes.

  • Wednesday, Jul 29, 2015 - 10:00am to 11:00am
    This event occurs every week Wednesday until Wed Aug 26 2015 except Wed Jun 17 2015 and Wed Jun 24 2015.

    Join Urban Solace studio for Tai Chi on the Riverfront, Wednesday mornings at 10 a.m. in the wetland area of Milliken State Park. 

Photo Gallery