Cullen Plaza

Located at: 1340 Atwater St. Detroit, MI 48207 Phone: (313) 566-8200

Cullen Plaza is home to many of the east riverfront’s most popular highlights, including the lovely Cullen Family Carousel, an in-laid granite map of the Detroit River, a standing glass sculptured map of the St. Lawrence Seaway, a children’s playscape, playful fountains and lush landscaping.

Also located at Cullen Plaza are the tantalizing creations of the RiverWalk Café and Wheelhouse Detroit, a bike shop offering bike rentals, tours, retail and service.

The popular Diamond Jack's River Tours, which provides public tours and private charters of the Detroit River, docks at Cullen Plaza.

The Conservancy's commemorative bricks and pavers are located at Cullen Plaza, as well as Gabriel Richard Park Plaza.

The pavilion building at Cullen Plaza houses public facilities as well as the Conservancy's operations offices and the security command center.

The Cullen Family Carousel and RiverWalk Café are currently closed for the season and will reopen upon return of the warm weather months.

Amenities

  • Bike
  • Café
  • Diamond Jack Boat
  • Handicap Accessible
  • Playscape
  • Restroom
  • Security Office
  • Water Feature

Events at Cullen Plaza

  • Tuesday, Jul 24, 2018 - 8:00am to 10:00am
    This event occurs every week Tuesday and Thursday until Thu Aug 30 2018 except Tue Jun 19 2018, Thu Jun 21 2018, Tue Jun 26 2018, Thu Jun 28 2018, Tue Jul 03 2018 and Thu Jul 05 2018.

    RiverWalkers is a senior walking program presented by the Detroit Medical Center. Seniors, 60+, are invited to participate in this free program that encourages wellness through walking on the Detroit RiverWalk and fitness classes.

  • Wednesday, Jul 25, 2018 - 10:00am to 11:00am
    This event occurs every week Wednesday until Wed Aug 22 2018 except Tue Jun 20 2017 and Tue Jun 27 2017.

    Join Urban Solace studio for Tai Chi on the Riverfront, Wednesday mornings at 10 a.m. in the wetland area of Milliken State Park. 

  • Thursday, Jul 26, 2018 - 11:00am to 2:00pm
    This event occurs every week Thursday and Friday until Sat Aug 11 2018.

    Reading & Rhythm on the Riverfront (R3) is the Detroit RiverFront Conservancy’s unique, interactive early literacy program that provides children from southeast Michigan an opportunity to see live children’s entertainment, hear a story read by a local community leader and receive a free book,

Photo Gallery